The VA department gives the veteran a 100% disability rating after examining his condition physically and mentally. The veteran is disabled permanently and is unable to perform any of his tasks. The VA department and the States offer free college to the dependents of 100% disabled veterans.
There is one part of raising your children is knowing how to pay for college when the day comes. As a military veterans, you probably wonder about your state and if they offer any tuition waivers for veterans. Here is the good news, certain states do provide free college to veterans and their dependents in military friendly colleges or at other higher education institutions.
Free College for 100% Disabled Veterans Dependents
There are many states that are offering the tuition waiver to veterans and their dependents, Below, we have discussed a few of them for you:
Here’s a quick list if you’re looking for information about states that offer education benefits to dependents of veterans. For more info, click on the state name to jump directly to your state.
Use floridacollegesystem.com to find out the school-specific resources for veterans. Under this system, every college has a staff member specialized in working with veterans to assist them through the process.
Scholarships for Children and Spouses of Deceased or Disabled Veterans program. This financial aid is For family members of vets who served in the military and died from a service-connected disability or are 100 percent disabled. Dependent children of MIA or POW are eligible.
College credit for college-level training and education in the Military. Consult local college campus for details.
Which schools waive out-of-state tuition for veterans?
The University of Mississippi, known better for its sports and other co-curricular activities, encourages veterans to attend with its Military Non-Resident Tuition Scholarship, which pays for the extra tuition that out-of-state students automatically get.
This scholarship is also available to the spouses and children of veterans if they meet the eligibility requirements. Federal law advises all the states to waive off out-of-state tuition for veterans and their dependents. The tuition is waived off for those who have qualified for GI Bill. The scholarship at Mississippi university is provided for the whole stay of students at the campus.
Other free College for 100 Disabled Veterans Dependents by state
Here is the detailed list that you can check out generous benefits for free college for veterans by state:
States that Offer Free College for Disabled Veterans’ Dependents
Military members or veterans that reside in the state of Connecticut are able to attend state regional community and technical colleges as well as state universities using a tuition waiver. in order to make themselves eligible, veterans must have served at least 90 days as an active duty during a period of combat, have been accepted into an approved institution, and be a Connecticut resident at the time of admission acceptance.
if you are a resident of Illinois that you can take advantage of free tuition and fees at state colleges, universities, and community colleges through the Illinois Veterans’ Grant. You will be eligible or qualified for this in the following condition:
- Veterans honorably discharged
- Veterans are resident in Illinois for six months prior to joining the service
- The military must have at least one complete year of active duty in the U.S. military forces and comeback to Illinois as a resident within six months of discharge from service.
In Massachusetts, veterans are eligible for any state-supported course in an undergraduate degree or certificate program offered through a public college or university. In addition, a person is a legal resident of Massachusetts, veterans cannot be in default of any other federal student loans.
the resident of Montana can also get free tuition benefits for veterans within the Montana University System. in order to qualify,
- veterans must have been honorably discharged from U.S. Armed Forces
- be a legal resident of the state of Montana
- maintain satisfactory academic progress while enrolled
Veterans benefit from the education provided by South Dakota enables veterans to take undergraduate courses at state universities without paying for tuition. in order to qualify this:
- Veterans must be discharged under honorable conditions
- be a current resident of South Dakota
- been on active duty between August 2, 1990, and till now.
veterans who are residents of Texas can receive tuition for up to 150 credit hours of tuition as well as most required fees at a state-supported college or university. In order to qualify for these benefits,
- veterans must be a resident of Texas at the time they enter military service
- They must have served at least 181 days
- Also have been honorably discharged from the armed forces and not a defaulter in any educational loans.
Wisconsin resident’s veterans can enjoy free tuition and fee benefits. Both types of Veterans who were Wisconsin residents at the start of active duty – and those who are no longer legal residents now – still eligible for such veteran education benefits.
The residents of Alaska who are the dependent of the services members that are died on duty, are listed by the DoD as a POW, or killed in action, are entitled to a waiver of undergraduate tuition and fees. for more details visit VA-approved Schools in Alaska.
If you are dependent on the service members from Arizona there is a tuition waiver for you. In case if the dependent children up to the age of 30 and dependent of US Armed Forces member, from Arizona, or stationed in Arizona and killed on duty time or died on duty due to any other injuries like accident qualify.
Veterans who have been medically discharged from the armed forces or the service member with a Purple Heart and whose disability rating determined by the US Department of Virginia is 50% or more. for more details check VA-approved Schools in Arizona
Kentucky has a tuition waiver for the following:
- Un-remarried widows or widowers
These benefits may be used towards 2-year, 4-year or vocational schools funded by the Kentucky Department of Education.
In order to qualify, one of the following must be true of the veteran:
- Died on active duty
- 100% service-connected disabled
- Totally disabled (not service-connected) with wartime service
- Is deceased, was KY resident at time of death, with wartime service
- Died as a result of service-connected disability (determined by VA)
- Social Security Administration award is not acceptable
NOTE: Applicant need not be KY resident
For more info, please go here.
STEP provides an exemption from all tuition charges at a Louisiana state supported. The student who are eligible of this program will receive a Fee Exemption Certificate from the Louisiana Department of Veteran Affairs. Louisiana state provides a state benefit for exemption of tuition and select fees for:
- Surviving spouses of deceased or disabled war veterans
- Children of veterans with at least a 90% service-disabled rating
- Children of war veterans who have a 100% disability rating due to individual un-employability
This Benefit will suites to 4 years of schooling, as long as it is completed in not more than 5 years. The best thing of this program is that there is no age limit for a surviving spouse. Spouses are eligible until the age of 25 and must attend on a full-time basis.
Veterans spouse who are The resident of North carolina can receive a scholarship. A child of a veteran can get advantages whose parent must either be deceased, disabled, be a POW or be MIA, or a combat veteran. In order to get this benefit the service member veteran will have needed to meet the qualifying criteria during wartime. for more visit here
The dependent of 100% disabled veterans can get undergraduate tuition and fees from the Washington state, up to 200 quarter credits or equivalent semester credits at state community colleges, colleges, and universities.
What is California’s free tuition for veterans/dependents?
California state offers free tuition waivers for disabled veterans and their dependents. The person studying in any college or university of California must be a resident of the state. He must also meet the eligibility criteria of that specific institute he wants to study. The state offers :
- An undergraduate resident of state, Part-time studying, $1,655 tuition waiver
- Undergraduate resident of state, Full-time studying, $2,871 tuition waiver
- Credential, Resident Student, if he is studying Part-time then $1,932
- Student studying Full-time then $3,330
Doctorate, Resident Student studying Part-time, $5,919.00
- Doctorate, Resident Student studying Full-time, $5,919.00
Further information about California education for veterans can be found at https://www.csusb.edu/veterans/education-benefits/dependent-benefits/california-fee-waiver